Common Problems

Webcam/Microphone Issue?

I'd like you to try the following tests before coming to the drive-thru:

  1. Go to https://www.onlinemictest.com/webcam-test/ to test your webcam. Follow the directions and see if your webcam works.

  2. Go to https://www.onlinemictest.com/ to test your microphone. Follow the directions and see if your microphone works.

  • If your webcam and microphone pass, see the information below to confirm that Google Meet will have access to them;

  • If your webcam and/or microphone fails one of the tests, please go to the Technology Drive-Thru to swap out your device.

Give "Camera" and "Microphone" access to Google Meets

Click the "Lock" icon next to the Google Meet URL and make sure that "Camera" and "Microphone" are both set to "Allow" (see picture to the right).







Confirm "Camera" and "Microphone" access to Google Meets

Click the "Camera" icon at the end of the address field make sure that "Continue allowing https://meet.google.com access to your camera and microphone" is selected.



If the Chromebook fails either of the two tests, then we'll have to swap out the device at the Technology Drive-Thru. For more info on the drive-thru, see dl.bsd-ri.net/technology/drive-thru-support.

Content Keeper - Login Screen

ContentKeeper is our district's web filter. When logged in with our district's Google accounts, our students are assigned an age-appropriate content filter policy.

If your student receives this image, the web filter is authenticating his or her account. Basically, it's figuring out what policy your student should receive.

After a few seconds (maybe up to 30 seconds), when the CKAuthenticator icon in the web browser changes from "off' to "on" (see icons on the right), your student should be able to click the "Home" icon in the browser and he or she should be at their homepage.

If you wait, press "Home", and still see this screen, please try again in another minute.


Content Keeper - Block Screen

If your student receives this image, the web filter is blocking access to the particular website. Web filters are good, but they're not perfect. Many times, sites are miscategorized and the content filter needs to be adjusted to allow access to the site. This block page is really important in troubleshooting - it lets us know why the site was blocked and where we need to go to fix it.

If your student gets this page, please report it to your teacher. He or she will contact the Technology Department to take care of it.


YouTube - Video Unavailable

If your student receives this image, the YouTube video your student is trying to access is not available for his or her account. Burrillville enforces "strict" and "moderate" filters on YouTube, and the video trying to be accessed is not allowed.

If your student gets this message, please report it to your teacher. He or she will need to find an alternative video - the Technology Department cannot "whitelist" specific videos or re-categorize incorrectly-flagged videos.


Chrome Profiles

With profiles, you can keep all your Chrome info separate, like bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings.

Profiles are ideal for:

  • Sharing a computer with multiple people.

  • Keeping your different accounts, like work and personal, separate.

Add a person or profile

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.

  2. At the top right, click Profile .

  3. Click Add.

  4. Choose a name and a photo.

  5. Click Add. A new window will open and ask you to turn on sync.

  6. (Optional) Turn sync on in Chrome with a Google Account for the new profile. Their bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings will automatically sync.

Switch to another person or profile

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.

  2. At the top right, click Profile .

  3. Choose the person or profile you want to switch to.

Remove a person or profile

After you remove someone from Chrome, their bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings are erased from the computer.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.

  2. At the top right, click Profile .

  3. Click Manage people .

  4. Point to the person you want to remove.

  5. At the top right of the person, click More Remove this person.

  6. Confirm by clicking Remove this person.